Unit 1 Faith Vocabulary

Sacred Scripture

the written record of Divine Revelation found in the books of the Old Testament and the New Testament

Old Testament

The forty-six books of the Bible that record the history of salvation from Creation until the time of Christ.


A solemn agreement between human beings or between God and a human being in which mutual commitments are made.

canon of scripture

the list of writings officially recognized and accepted by the Catholic Church as inspired books of Sacred Scripture

New Testament

The twenty-seven books of the Bible written in apostolic times, which have the life, teachings, Passion, death, Resurrection, and Ascension of Jesus Christ and the beginnings of the Church as their central theme.


Four books in the New Testament that tell the story of Christ's life and teachings; Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John


Matthew, Mark, and Luke; literally means "seeing with the same eye


Followers of Christ


The authors of the four Gospels of the New Testament----Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John----and disciples closely associated with them; sharers of the Good News

Fourth Gospel

Another name for the Gospel according to John


a special duty or function which a person or group is sent out to do

Kingdom of God

The rule of God proclaimed by Jesus and begun in his Life, Death, and Resurrection.

Paschal Mystery

The suffering, death, Resurrection, and Ascension of Jesus Christ


The first five books of the Old Testament; Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy

Sermon on the Mount

A part of the Gospel according to Matthew in which Jesus preaches important moral teachings, including the Beatitudes


a long speech


The teachings of Jesus during the Sermon on the Mount in which he describes the actions and attitudes that should characterize Christians and by which one can discover genuine meaning and happiness; 8 guidelines to living, given by Jesus in the Sermon on


Short stories that use everyday images to communicate religious messages; found in the Gospels of Matthew and Mark


When your life is changed by giving yourself to God

I am" sayings

A group of sayings found only in the Gospel of John, in which Jesus identifies himself. In some of the sayings he speaks in metaphor ("I am the bread of life," "I am the light of the world," "I am the way, the truth, and the life"), and other times he ide

Book of Glory

second part of the Gospel according to John beginning with Jesus' foot washing. This section contains Jesus' words of comfort to disciples and the proclamation of his glory

Book of Signs

first half of the Gospel of John containing seven miracles performed by Jesus followed by his commentary explaining how each "sign" applies to him

symbolic language

Images that point to a deeper meaning than the literal meaning of the words