body planes and cavities

A sagittal section divides the body (or organ) into

lef tand right parts (lengthwise or longitudinal plane)

A median, or midsagittal, section divides the body (or organ) into

equal left and right parts- cut made down the median plane

A frontal section divides the body (or organ)

into anterior and posterior parts (aka- coronal section)

A transverse

, or cross section divides the body (o rorgan) into superior and inferior parts

Dorsal body cavity


ventral body cavity

thoraicadominopelvic---abdominal, pelvic

cranial cavity

contains brain

vertebral cavity

contains spinal cord

thoraic cavity

contains heart and lungs

abdominal cavity

digestive viscera

pelvic cavity

urinary bladder, reproductive organs and rectum

umbilical region

the centermost region

epigastric region

immediately supperior to the umbilical region; overlies most of the stomach


pubic regionimmediately inferior to the umbilical regionencompasses the pubic area


inguinallateral to the hypogastric regionoverlying the superior parts of the hip bones

lumbar regiaons

between the ribs and the flaring portions of the hip boneslateral to the umbilical region

hypochondriac regions

flanking the epigastric region laterallyoverlying th elower ribs